Home > News
News

Application of ultraviolet (UV) system in swimming pool industry

2019-9-27 2,142

 

For a long time, chlorine or ozone treatment has been the most commonly used method for water treatment in swimming pools, but UV water treatment systems are becoming more and more popular, on the one hand because the UV water treatment systems are compact in structure and occupy a small area without civil construction. On the other hand, it is because they significantly reduce the consumption of chlorine and save more costs for operators.

For secondary ultraviolet disinfection systems for swimming pools and hot springs, chlorine and ozone are still the main forms of disinfection used in swimming pools and spas. However, the use of ultraviolet radiation and other technologies to supplement chemical disinfection is becoming more and more popular. Depending on the selected system, these disinfection methods can provide the following benefits:

 

1. Reduce the level of fungicides
2. Reduce bacterial levels and inhibit chlorine-resistant microorganisms
3. Chloramine oxidation (chlorine by-product)
4. Flocculation
5. Avoid the health and safety issues involved in handling hazardous chemicals

 

 

Ultraviolet UV water treatment systems are divided into two categories: low pressure (LP) and medium pressure (MP). LP and MP refer to the internal pressure of the gas in the lamp rather than the water pressure of the system, and each has different uses and benefits.

 

 

LP Low Pressure UV Water Treatment System

 

The UV treatment system uses a cylindrical stainless steel cylinder with a UV lamp protected by a quartz sleeve.

Using a low-pressure UV water treatment system, the core goal is disinfection. The LP lamp emits ultraviolet light with a specific wavelength (254nm), which is very effective for inactivating bacteria. The “dose” of UV light is measured in mj/cm2, and the critical minimum dose maintained is 40mj/cm2. This dose is equal to drinking water standards and will reduce the bacterial level of the most common bacteria found in swimming pools by 99.99%.

 

 

 

MP Medium Pressure UV Water Treatment System

 

The MP lamp emits ultraviolet light in a wider wavelength range. Compared with the LP low-pressure system, it has a higher dose and band, which leads to the oxidation and disinfection of chloramines in the water.

When water passes through the UV system, part of the UV spectrum decomposes chloramines through the process of photochemical reactions. Shorter UV wavelengths will cause water to produce hydroxyl radicals, which are strong oxidants that can attack chloramines in water and decompose them.


Ultraviolet radiation can also be used as a highly effective natural disinfectant to inactivate microorganisms by destroying DNA.

Ultraviolet rays can only treat water as it passes through the lamp, so there must still be a residual amount of biocide (such as chlorine) to provide continuous protection in the rest of the system.


However, the amount of chlorine used is reduced by about 50-80% relative to the normal level of the pool, which means that the disinfectant level can be reduced to 0.5 ppm. This means that the UV treatment tank uses less chemicals and therefore requires less backwashing, which helps reduce overall costs.


The Swimming Pool Water Treatment Advisory Group (PWTAG) updated their guidelines in 2018 to incorporate MP UV systems into all commercial applications. The guidelines now stipulate that when the UV transmittance (the amount of UV light that can pass through the water) is 94%, MP UV with a dose of 60mj/cm2 should be used to treat all water streams. Proper use of UV treatment equipment can produce a cleaner and more comfortable water environment than using chlorine alone, and the air in the swimming pool or enclosure will be better without unpleasant chloramine odor or eye irritation.

 

Renownuv Vision: By focusing on the continuous development of products and services to guide customer needs, become a professional company recognized by global users.
Renownuv mission: establish a highly competitive technology company through a unique culture, provide customers with excellent products, and enable them to establish a deep relationship with the company.
This article is Renownuv’s original article, please attach the source for reprinting:www.renownuv.com

A professional brand focused on offering complete proposals of air and water cleaning, has advanced purification compounding technology of photochemical reaction and photophysics process and design capability from Europe.
About us
Application
About us
Application

首页 > 瑞朗资讯
瑞朗资讯

紫外线(UV)系统在泳池行业中应用

2019-9-27 629

最新紫外线消毒资讯,关注瑞朗

长期以来,氯或臭氧处理一直是游泳池中水处理的最常用方法,但紫外线水处理系统正变得越来越受欢迎,一方面是因为紫外线水处理系统结构紧凑,占地小无需土建。另一方面是因为,它们显著减少了氯的消耗,为经营者节约更多成本

用于游泳池和温泉的紫外线二次消毒系统,氯和臭氧仍然是游泳池和水疗中使用的主要消毒形式,然而,使用紫外线照射等技术补充化学消毒正变得越来越流行。根据所选择的系统,这些消毒方法可以提供以下好处:

  • 1.降低杀菌剂水平
  • 2.降低细菌水平,抑制耐氯微生物
  • 3.氯胺氧化(氯副产物)
  • 4.絮凝
  • 5.避免处理危险化学品时涉及的健康和安全问题

紫外线UV 水处理系统分为两大类:低压(LP)和中压(MP)。LP和MP指的是灯内气体的内部压力而不是系统的水压,并且每种都具有不同的用途和益处。

LP 低压紫外线水处理系统

UV处理系统使用圆柱形不锈钢筒体,其内部是由石英套管保护的UV灯。

使用低压紫外线水处理系统,核心目标在于消毒。LP灯发出特定波长(254nm)的紫外光,这对灭活细菌非常有效。UV光的“剂量”以mj/cm 2测量,维持的临界最小剂量为40mj/cm 2。该剂量等于饮用水标准,并且将使游泳池中发现的最常见细菌的细菌水平降低99.99%

MP 中压紫外线水处理系统

MP灯在更宽的波长范围内发出紫外线,与LP 低压系统相比,它拥有更高的剂量与波段,导致水中氯胺的氧化以及消毒。

当水通过UV系统时,一部分紫外光谱通过光化学反应的过程分解氯胺。较短的紫外波长会让水产生羟基自由基,它们是强氧化剂,可以攻击水中的氯胺,使之分解。

紫外线辐射还可作为一种高效的天然消毒剂,通过破坏DNA来灭活微生物。

紫外线只能在水通过灯时处理水,所以仍然必须存在残留量的杀菌剂(例如氯),以在整个系统的其余部分提供持续的保护。

但氯使用量,相对于池的通常水平减少大约50-80%,这意味着可以将消毒剂水平降低至0.5ppm。这意味着紫外线处理池使用的化学品较少,因此也需要较少的反洗,这有助于降低综合成本。

泳池水处理咨询小组(PWTAG)在2018年更新了他们的指导方针,将MP UV系统纳入所有商业应用。该指南现在规定,在紫外透射率(能够通过水的紫外线光量)为94%时,应使用剂量为60mj / cm2的MP UV处理全部水流。正确使用紫外线处理设备能产生比单独使用氯消毒,更清洁,更舒适的水环境,并且游泳池或围栏中的空气会更好,没有令人不快的氯胺气味或眼睛刺激。

瑞朗愿景:通过专注于产品和服务的不断发展引导客户需求,成为让全球用户认可的专业公司。

瑞朗使命:通过独特的文化建立一家极具竞争力的科技公司,为客户提供卓越的产品,使他们与公司建立深厚的情感。

欲了解更多产品应用案例,可返回微信公众号留言,或访问瑞朗官方网站www.renownuv.com

致力于空气及水环境洁净完整方案提供的专业品牌,拥有领先的光化学反应和光物理加工技术知识产权和源自欧洲的设计能力,极富创造性地实现了更人性、更健康的生活。
关于我们
技术及应用
我们对于技术创新使我们与众不同,我们致力于提供可持续的、有效的空气及水紫外线净化解决方案。
技术及应用
新闻快讯
查看更多